President Elect – Nana Akufo-Addo has expressed gratitude to Ghanaians

President-elect, Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo has offered thanks to Ghanaians for giving him a resonating triumph in the 2020 official decisions.

Talking from his home after the affirmation of the official outcomes by the Returning Officer of the 2020 official political decision, Jean Mensa, Nana Akufo-Addo said he is resolved to turn the fortunes of the nation around.

“Just as I have been doing since 2017, I give you my word, that I will continue to work very hard to build a prosperous and progressive Ghana for which we yearn. The size and margin of this election constitute for me an endorsement of the policies and programs initiated by my government.”

“I am determined to do all in my power to accomplish the task of this new mandate and thereby justify the confidence reposed in me. I assure you fellow Ghanaians that I will do my best not to let you down.”

He likewise dedicated to cooperating with the minority in parliament in light of a legitimate concern for the country.

“The Ghanaian people through the results have made it loud and clear that the two parties must work together for the good of the country. Now is the time for each and every one of us, irrespective of our political affiliations, to work hard and place Ghana where we want it to be.”

The President-elect said he looks to “reverse the adverse effect COVID-19 has had on our economy and lives” in his second term.

Nana Akufo-Addo, who drove the New Patriotic Party into the December 7 polls, acquired 6,730,413 votes out of a sum of 13,434,574, speaking to 51.59% while the flagbearer of the National Democratic Congress (NDC), John Dramani Mahama put second, earning 6,214,889 which speaks to 47.36% of the complete voting forms cast.

In all, 12 presidential candidates contested in the 2020 polls.

The results announced were as follows;

  • Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo (NPP) – 6,730,413 (51.295%)
  • John Dramani Mahama (NDC) – 6,214,889 (47.366%)
  • Christian Kwabena Andrews (GUM) – 105,565 (0.805%)
  • Ivor Kobina Greenstreet (CPP) – 12,215 (0.093%)
  • Akua Donkor (GFP) – 5,575 (0.024%)
  • Henry Herbert Lartey (GCPP) – 3574 (0.027%)
  • Hassan Ayariga (APC) – 7,140 (0.054%)
  • Percival Kofi Akpaloo (LPG) – 7,690 (0.059%)
  • David Asibi Ayindenaba Apasera (PNC) – 10,887 (0.083%)
  • Brigitte Akosua Dzogbenuku (PPP) – 6,848 (0.052%)
  • Nana Konadu Agyeman-Rawlings (NDP) – 6,612 (0.050%)
  • Alfred Kwame Asiedu Walker (Independent candidate) – 9,703 (0.074%)

Up until this point, the Great Consolidated People’s Party’s (GCPP) Henry Herbert Lartey and LPG’s Kofi Akpaloo have called President Nana Akufo-Addo to praise him on his triumph.

Kobby Koomson
Author: Kobby Koomson

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

error: Content is protected !!