NCA | List of 49 TV Stations to be shutdown

The National Communications Authority (NCA) has embarked on an exercise to shut down 49 television stations for operating without authorization. This forms part of a continuous monitoring exercise conducted on various Satellite Free-to-Air Television platforms. The monitoring revealed that some channels were operating without valid Authorisations.

List of the TV stations:

The exercise is being done in conjunction with the Ghana Police Service and National Security Intelligence Operatives. “The NCA will continue monitoring to ensure that the use of spectrum is done in an efficient manner,” the NCA said in a statement.

The number of stations affected is expected to be shut down by the end of this month. It is expected that most of the stations will be closed by Friday, December 28. The stations are scheduled to be closed down by Saturday, December 31, according to NCA’s statement.

They are in compliance with the National Communications Act, 2008 (Section 2(4) and (5) of which is titled ‘Operating without authorization’ and ‘Authorisation to provide broadcasting services’

error: Content is protected !!